eBusiness Blog

Happy Holidays!


Thank you to all who have been a part of the eVision Media network family this past year. We are very grateful for the wonderful people that we have had the pleasure to work with and look forward to nurturing your success in years to come.

Wishing you and your special ones a happy holiday season and an amazing New Year from all of us at eVision Media.

… Susan, Daniel, Warren, Jared, Ken, Jiyoung, Tim, Dilpreet and Cindy!

Christmas is forever, not for just one day,
for loving, sharing, giving, are not to put away
like bells and lights and tinsel, in some box upon a shelf.
The good you do for others is good you do yourself…
Norman Wesley Brooks
“Let Every Day Be Christmas,” 1976

Phishing attack using PayPal

Alert: If you receive an email from PayPal with the subject line: Update Your Information, do NOT click on the link – it is a phishing attack meant to steal your personal information.

(Quoting PayPal) What is Phishing?

Phishing is a form of fraud designed to steal your identity. It works by using false pretenses to get you to disclose sensitive personal information, such as credit and debit card numbers, account passwords, or Social Security numbers.

What do you do?

PayPal wants to know when these types of emails are being sent out. You can forward the offending email to: spoof@paypal.com and then delete the email. Do NOT click on any links within the email.

For more information and details on similar phishing attacks, read The Phishing Guide from the PayPal site.

Always be wary of ANY email that asks you to click a link and enter in personal information – even if it looks official, the odds are great that it is not legit. Be safe and ask your webmaster or go to the official website of the company the email is representing to find out if it is legit or not.

Beware of False Renewal Notices

It’s an unethical Scam!

If you receive a letter in the mail from ‘Domain Registry of Canada’ asking you to renew/transfer your .CA domain name it is probably NOT legit! Yes, they are a legit domain registrar but they feed off of unsuspecting people by sending very official looking letters through the mail and making it look like your domain name is registered through them, indicating it is time to renew.

Domain names are rarely renewed via regular mail and usually done via email. If you receive a renewal notice from anyone named: Domain Registry of Canada, double check who your domain registrar is before sending any money. You can do this by either contacting your Web Master or checking a Whois database. The odds are good that you do not have a domain registered with them and if you do, I highly recommend you don’t partake in their unethical, albeit legal, practices.